13
Aug
15

Around the neighborhood

FullSizeRender-20

I arrived in Kazakhstan a couple of days ago and things are off to a good start so far! Everyone I’ve met from the US Consulate here has been absolutely wonderful and kind. I am staying at the most famous building in Kazakhstan- the historic Kazakhstan Hotel, built in 1970 and made to withstand a 9.0 Earthquake! The building is the symbol for the city of Almaty and is even featured on Kazakh currency:

KazakhstanPNew-5000Tenge-2006-donatedTA_b

I got to do a bit of sight-seeing with Anastasia, a brilliant young intern for the consulate. She took me on a walk to Panfilov Park, where we saw this beautiful cathedral (Ascension Cathedral):

FullSizeRender-20 copy 2

Almaty has surprised me by how green and leafy it is. There are flower gardens and public fountains and small parks everywhere. Apparently, the city has 125 fountains! From the city, you can see the Zailiski Ala-Tau mountains to the south, which border Kyrgyzstan. Anastasia also took me to the Green Market, which is the city’s main produce and meat market. We’d heard taking photographs is strictly forbidden, so I don’t have any pictures to share. There were all kinds of delicious looking fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts and dried fruits as well as many different meats and cheeses. There was also a section of the market with prepared Korean dishes for sale.

I’ve been a bit jet lagged and the higher altitude in Almaty has made me feel a bit groggy, so I haven’t gotten to explore too much on my own yet. I’m really looking forward to visiting the art museum on Friday and learning about Kazakh art history as well as contemporary Kazakh art. Today I meet with people from the school I will be working on mural projects with.

Here are some random signs and things that have caught my eye so far:

Sign for a bowling alley:

FullSizeRender-20 copy

Sign for a cinema school. I have learned that Kazakhstan has an interesting history of cinema. Looking forward to learning more about it.

FullSizeRender-20 copy 5

Here’s an old photo booth I thought was interesting:

FullSizeRender-20 copy 4

1 Response to “Around the neighborhood”


  1. 1 JoAnne
    August 13, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    Oh Carrie, we wish you the very best while on your adventurous art escapade. We’re very excited for you and are proud aunt and uncle. The children there will be lucky to be experiencing art with you. Have loads of fun.

    Love JoAnne and Bill


Leave a Reply

