31
Jul
13

Soda Reviews #3

These sodas all have a lot of calories in them, but I made an exception because I thought they all sounded interesting.

Fentiman’s Rose Lemonade (Purchased at Rainbow Blossom)

IMG_1659

I stopped by Rainbow Blossom the other day to look for an exciting soda when I ran into Brett Holsclaw. He recommended that I try this rose lemonade. When he mentioned that it was sparkling, I was intrigued. It did not disappoint! Sweet, but not too sweet, a little tart and with a nice floral taste from the rosewater.  At 130 calories, this is not the kind of soda I have in mind to chug all day long, but it was definitely interesting! Thanks, Brett!

Fentiman’s Shandy (Purchased at Liquor Barn)

drink3

I had a minor freakout while I was drinking this. When I bought it, I was intrigued because this was a mixture of 70% de-alcoholized beer and lemonade. It could be a great fake beer for me. Then my husband pointed out the information on the label that said it contains .5% or less alcohol. I tried to wrap my brain around the math. After visiting Fentiman’s website, it’s actually closer to .05% but the FDA requires all beverages like this to be labeled as such. So how does it taste? It tastes okay. Kind of sweet and the lemonade flavor is not particularly bright, but it’s nice to have an opportunity to enjoy a beer-ish flavor. This might be something I’d have once in awhile if I am missing beer. I don’t know if I can handle full on non-alcoholic beer. Calorie-wise, this is the same as the Rose Lemonade: 130.

Ting (Purchased at La Rosita Grocery on Westport Road)

tingThis is a Jamaican grapefruit-flavored soda and it was awesome! Sweet, but a little tart, and refreshingly crisp.  Even better, I drank some of it straight, and then mixed the rest with La Croix grapefruit flavored sparkling water and that combination was TOP NOTCH. It’s a little high in calories (150) unfortunately. Also, the new La Rosita grocery on Westport road is awesome. All kinds of interesting Mexican groceries, good looking bakery items, and there is a restaurant there with tacos that look to be super authentic (no vegetarian options, that’s for sure.)

Woong Jin Green Plum Drink (Purchased at Choi’s Asian Grocery)

woongjingreenplumdrink

I was hooked by the label design when I saw this Korean beverage. I couldn’t tell what the fruit was or what the label said, nor did I ask anyone at the store about it.  I have to say, I was a little disappointed when I opened this up and realized that it wasn’t actually a soda. No bubbles. The first sip I took seemed very sweet, too. The more I drank it, the more interesting the flavor became and the more I liked it. Afterward, I tried finding it on google and discovered that the flavor was green plum and it made sense. It tastes like you’d imagine: a plum flavor with a little bit of tartness. 100 calories. And the can is pretty.

0 Responses to “Soda Reviews #3”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

