10
Mar
09

8601 dixie highway

I noticed this abandoned house while taking pictures for that last post on Dixie Highway.  It looks like it has been abandoned for a long time.  I nervously explored the extensive grounds of the property, which were littered and overgrown.  For being so close to wide, wide Dixie Highway, I was surprised at how quiet and serene it was there.  I noticed a couple of entrances to the house that were open, but I chickened out (or smartened up?)  and didn’t go in.  I wonder what the story is with this property?  It is certainly very creepy.  Any ideas, Broken Sidewalk

creepyhouse1

woods

creepybuilding2

creepybuilding3

creepyhouse4

creepyhouse5

creepyhouse6

23 Responses to “8601 dixie highway”


  1. March 11, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    Found a little info on the property… It’s owned by a trust under John & Anna Hicks that also appears to own several properties in the West End. The parcel around the house is about 1.5 acres, but the larger grounds have been subdivided. The house appears to date from the early 1930s based off of deeds for the property (it looks about that age, too), but I couldn’t find any exact references to the house. It may have belonged originally to Mary & Marvin Cunningham, but again, unsure. The area sure would have looked different back in the 1930s, though.

  2. 2 Caity
    March 12, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    What a fantastic set of photos! I believe that’s one of the administrator’s residences for the old Waverly Hills Sanatorium. Sad to see it in that state of decay.

  3. 3 fc
    March 14, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    another awesome set of photos. good thing you didn’t go in. somehow i get the feeling an axe murderer lives there.

  4. 4 BBorders
    March 23, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Every time I ride by this house my eye is drawn to it, I always wonder about it’s history an assume that it is somehow tied to Waverly Hospital. I would love to know more about and possible see it restored. It could be a beautiful old home.

  5. March 24, 2009 at 1:50 am

    Yeah, I know that house.

    It might be 19th century. The facade treatment looks like a central hall “I-house”, which was a popular style in the Ohio Valley. But it seems too deep for that. The front porch could have been a later addition as could what looks like a stucco exterior.

    It would be too far south to be associated with Waverly Hills. The houses with Waverly associations would be on Pages Lane, north side and perhaps some on the south side.

    This house would have had more to do with “Johnsontown”, which was a settlement Dixie and Johnsontown Road. This dated back to the 19th century, the first PO in SW County (“Salina PO”). By 1917 there was subdivision in the area due to the Interurban (and later model Ts) making commuting earlier. So if not a farm house its an early suburban house.

  6. 6 JoAnn
    March 24, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    I forwarded your article to someone that lived there in the 80’s and his comments are below.

    we rented the bottom portion of it in the late 80’s. It was then and still may be owend by John Hicks…His house is at the top of the hill which used to have a cross on it at christmas time. I believe it is now vacant as well. You may want to speak with Miles Stevenson at rockys auto sales. I think he may have a little more insight as the current state of ownership of the property and the owner ( alive or deceased )? good luck.

  7. 7 CYNDI
    April 14, 2009 at 7:59 am

    THANKS FOR THE INFO. I’D LIKE TO KNOW MORE TOO. LET ME KNOW IF YOU FIND OUT MORE. I’D LIKE TO SEE HOW IT’S ZONED. I’D LIKE TO MAKE IT A NIGHTCLUB. WOULDN’T THAT BE AN UNDERTAKING?
    THANKS
    CYNDI

  8. April 14, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I LEFT THE COMMENT ABOUT THE CLUB IDEA. DID SOME MORE RESEARCH. THERE ARE RUMOURS OF FORECLOSURE AND DEMOLITION. HOPE NOT. FEEL FREE TO EMAIL ANY UPDATES.
    CYNDI

  9. 9 Jessica Peacock
    August 6, 2009 at 1:51 am

    I would love to know more about this house, My feince knows some family members whom used to own the hom but I want to get outside info. I want to buy it and restore it to a beautiful home…

  10. August 7, 2009 at 5:36 am

    I found your site while searching for info on this house, and I also found the following link:

    http://valleyreport.blogspot.com/2009/05/hicks-house-update-for-sunday-may-10.html

    It’s such a beautiful home, I hate that it’s sitting empty. According to property tax searches, it’s owned by the Rev John Hicks Trust.

  11. 11 Carson
    November 12, 2009 at 11:22 am

    It was owned by the same person who painted the “Jesus Saves” sign near Park Place Mall. Amazing that sign is still up, but I am glad it is. I think he died in the 60s.

  12. 12 nancy
    November 21, 2009 at 2:32 am

    This house was once a single family home which later was an apartment building. It was to be torn down for a resturant but the so called historians in the area don’t want any development. It is also connected to the house on top of the hill above it, the one that had the lighted cross on the side. It is private property and I would stay off of the land.

  13. 13 carolynn ellis
    December 22, 2009 at 2:53 am

    my great grand parents owned the home at one time. i was ther not 2 long ago. i tried to get a hold of my cousin, but no luck. i used to play there when i was a little girl. i lived on the property until 1970. it was very spokey. when my ant was a little girl she said my great grandparents would not let them go in the stair way. the fergusons used to live there aswell.

  14. 14 myles
    December 31, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Mr.Hicks is in good health and has moved to Indiana. The house at the top of the hill (with the red cross now lit at night again) is currently occupied. Both houses have endured an extensive amount of vandalism. Bravery and ignorance can be a destructive combination to an vacant building. Even with the main house occupied, the vandalism continues. Please, if you are aware of any guilty parties, make them stop. The Hicks are elderly and the property has been in the family for generations. It breaks their heart to see the cruelty to their lifes work. The intentions never were to abondon the properties, but no sooner than the Hicks moved the vandalsim started. Now the houses have suffered too much to be considerable homes for a family. We are currently bringing the top house to a livable condition once more. NOW I WOULD LIKE TO SHARE WITH YOU SOMETHING THAT IS VERY IMPORTANT TO THE HICKS’ LEGACY. THE HOUSES ARE JUST STICKS AND STONES, BUT THE “JESUS SAVES” BILLBOARD ACROSS FROM TARGET SHOULD BE PRESERVED FOR EVERYONE AS A REMINDER. IF YOU HAVE SOMETHING TO CONTRIBUTE TO PRESERVING THE SIGN, I NEED LABOR AND OR SOME MATERIAL, PLEASE CALL ME IF YOU HAVE SOME TIME TO HELP. CONTACT MYLES AT ROCKY’S AUTO SALES 935-4284. IT WOULD MEAN EVERYTHING TO THE HICKS FAMILY SO IF THEY EVER HELPED OUT YOU OR ANYONE YOU KNOW PLEASE RETURN THE FAVOR.

  15. 15 Mark
    January 21, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    I first noticed the house when I was driving home last week and was wondering if it was for sale or rent. If it is going to be restored, I would like to help and may be able to donate some material and certainly time. I hate to see old place get torn up like this. Can it be put on the historical registry?

  16. 16 myles
    January 29, 2010 at 10:53 am

    Thank you for your concern, but the owner of the house has signed over the responsibilty to the prp fire dept. He believes it will be burned or demolished on march 6. He was raised in the house, but the vandanlism and the thought of someone getting hurt are a concern of his. I have asked him recently if i block or brick up the windows if he would change the fate of the house and he only slightly considered it. It would hurt the appaerance but it should better preserve the structure. Windows could be painted over the brick to make it look nice. But i still need his approval and i am running out of time.

    • 17 amanda
      March 31, 2013 at 12:02 am

      Hello, I was just wondering if my fiance and his best friend would possibly be able to metal detect the bottom portion of the property of the house on dixie? Just don’t want to go up there and be run off or locked up, we live near by, email me and let me know, it would be greatly appreciated thanks amanda.powers19@yahoo.com

  17. 18 Dale
    December 31, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I was looking for Info on the old white building on Dixie near Hwy 44 and I found this site. I am also into Photography and I am looking to do a series of photos on “Urban Decay” – I am a History “nut” and I LOVE Old buildings.. if I can help preserve this building let me know…

    Anyone know about the other building- it use to be a oil refinery I believe.

    And for the photographer who took the pics.. if you like to do photography join us on the Louisville Photography Collective.. it is a Photography Club.

  18. 19 Ashley
    May 6, 2011 at 4:35 am

    I live near the house and just the other day my Mom pointed it out, i had never noticed it before. My Mom is obsessed with it, she thinks its got alot of potential still. But anyway, she heard that an elderly man used to live their and he required assitance and had nurses that stayed with him and a patient from Waverly escaped and killed the nurses. Dont think its true but i was searching to see if it was and found this page. Just thought Id share.

  19. 20 Amanda
    February 10, 2012 at 9:59 am

    to this day the house is still standing, and also still a mystery… my fiance and i have passed this house many of times seeing as how we live very close to the old place, we were wondering ourselves if it was up for grabs, if anyone has a clue as to how it would be possible to get a hold of anyone selling the place please email me amanda.powers19@yahoo.com thanks!

  20. 21 Brittani
    March 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    The house still sits there- is there any way of buying it?

  21. 23 amanda
    March 30, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    There is a camper up there at the home and I’ve noticed it gets moved every once in a while but not sure who’s staying there….


Leave a Reply

