08
Feb
09

vacation in yr own backyard: the OC (oldham county)

La Grange is a city in Oldham County, Kentucky. It was founded in 1827 and named after the French home of General Lafayette. The population is 5,676.

lagrange1

lagrange2

lagrange3

lagrange4

lagrange5

lagrange61

lagrange7

lagrange8

lagrange10

lagrange11

lagrange9

11 Responses to “vacation in yr own backyard: the OC (oldham county)”


  1. 1 Cobra
    February 8, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Some things about LaGrange are just so sad.

  2. 2 Robert Frost
    February 13, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    The house had gone to bring again
    To the midnight sky a sunset glow.
    Now the chimney was all of the house that stood,
    Like a pistil after the petals go.

    The barn opposed across the way,
    That would have joined the house in flame
    Had it been the will of the wind, was left
    To bear forsaken the place’s e.

  3. March 17, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Why not show some of the beautiful scenery around Oldham county .Such as the horse farms,old historical homes ,[D.W.Griffith’s for one ]Old Confederate Cemetery ,Duncan-Head house ,Rob Morris Historical home and many many more !
    Why would you pick the ugliest and most dilipated ones to show ?? Guess real estate is booming,HUH !!
    I personally can see many beautiful sites here in our county !!! I am just an old lady searching for scenic pictures of Oldham county when I stumbled on your site and say :SHAME ON YOU !!!” .

  4. April 1, 2009 at 1:33 am

    I guess you are right about beauty being in the eyes of the beholder but I do not think this was what you were implying !!Want me to send you some good pictures ? Is this your way of welcoming folks to our county?

    • 6 aprettypickle
      April 1, 2009 at 12:26 pm

      Have you even looked through the rest of this blog? I have documented all sorts of rural and urban decay around the area–because it’s interesting to me. I am not trying to compete with the chamber of commerce in order to attract people to Oldham county. If you want to start your own blog about the beauty and the pastures and quaintness of oldham county, go for it! It’s just not what I’m interested in here.

  5. 7 aprettypickle
    April 1, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I should also point out that I spent a lot of my childhood in La Grange- that green barn is actually on my grandparents’ old property. My grandparents are long gone now, but I still have the memory of some of these things here. Oldham county is a little bit sad for me.

  6. April 2, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Yes I HAVE LOOKED AT SOME OF YOUR OTHER PICTURES.I GUESS WE JUST SEE THING DIFFERENTLY.I KNOW WE HAVE SOME UGLY SITES HERE IN OLDHAM COUNTY BUT I JUST FEEL AS THO YOU ARE HUNTING THEM OUT AND NOT SHOWING ANY OF OUR BEAUTIFUL SCENERY.HAVE YOU TAKEN A CRUISE DOWN US42? SOME BEAUTIFUL SCENERY ON IT.PLUS PEWEE VALLEY HAS BEAUTIFUL SCENERY AS WELL AS LAGRANGE!Nothing is perfect but why look for UGLY when there is beauty ? Life is too short to look for ugly things !! try being a bit more on “The Sunny side of life ” and overlook the dirty and ugly side.We all know it is there but we usually do not go hunting for it .Cheer up and live !!

    • 9 aprettypickle
      April 2, 2009 at 2:00 am

      Listen Local Lady, I am not sure why you continue to post comments on my blog (in all caps) if you dislike it so much, but let me try this one more time: I enjoy the way old things look. You may consider them ugly. That is fine. We have different views. The purpose of my blog is not to showcase beautiful views of Oldham county– there are enough outlets if that is what you want to look at.

      I like old, rusted, dilapidated buildings. They are beautiful to me. They contain history, stories, and yes– they are sometimes sad. I am sorry that you are so offended by my photography. Like I said, if you don’t like what I am doing, start your own blog! WordPress is free and open to anyone who wants to open an account.

  7. April 2, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Ok, I respect your right to see beauty in these pictures and apologize if I am wrong in my interpretation of your meaning.


Leave a Reply

