08
Feb
09

cool grocery store alert #11

karem1

Morris’ Liquors and Deli (formerly Karem Deeb), 2228 Taylorsville Road.

Deli meats, cheeses, breads, soups, wines, “the original beer cave”, plastic flasks, “picnic supplies”, the largest selection of sodas I have seen in town.

karem2

1 Response to “cool grocery store alert #11”


  1. 1 James Beard
    February 13, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Though aware of the blogger’s vegetarian diet and antipathy toward mayo, I feel compelled nevertheless to share the following. I was introduced to the perfect country ham sandwich many years ago by the original proprietor, a gruff but jovial man named Karem Deeb who always dressed in khaki pants and shirt and reminded me for some reason of Joseph Stalin. The finely-sliced country ham was accompanied by onions, Helman’s mayonaise, a dark spicy mustard, and thin provolone on wheat. This was, Mr. Deeb informed me, the only way to make such a sandwich and in the main he was right, though now that Morris runs the deli I’ve taken the liberty of substituting sour dough bread for wheat — I hope the old man will forgive me.


Leave a Reply

